Tenting hobo no more!

It’s been awhile, my apologies I am the queen of good intentions.

I am pleased to say that I think I am done living like a hobo in a tent outside of Calgary while working in the city. The timing on this is good considering that the nights were getting awfully chilly at the end there.I should be doing fieldwork now until the snow flies and it generally becomes too miserable for us to be out. While out camping though I made some lovely new friends at the swamp nearby (what else was I supposed to do?). I chased around some ducks and befriended some very curious muskrats. I must say that we have some fantastic sunrises and sunsets around here as well, I am thoroughly enjoying them lately.

I was losing my mind in the office a bit though, feeling rather inadequate at my job. I’m sure that’s normal for a new job – the overwhelming feeling that you know nothing but I must admit that it was starting to wear me down for sure. So much to learn all at once. Not only do I have to learn the whole government/paperwork side of things, but I also still feel like I know so little about the history and archaeology of the areas that we’re dealing with. There just never seems to be enough time to read and learn everything I want to about everything – archaeology, geology, bones, geography, plants, animals, etc.

Leave a Reply

